Google’s Chrome 69 hides a disturbing twist: if you log into Gmail or another Google service, Chrome seems to automatically log you into the browser as well. Theoretically, that means that you will automatically begin sharing data with Google, like it or not.

The confusion comes from a new way in which Google shows your “logged in” status. Previously, if you were signed in to Chrome, an icon would appear in the upper right-hand corner, indicating that you were signed in and sharing data. The same icon now appears if you’re logged into a Google service like Google.com or Gmail, but not necessarily to Chrome. 

What does all this mean? Most people associate signing in to your Google account with signing into the Chrome browser, but that’s not always the case. 

To read this article in full, please click here

Shares